(in)couraging one another online…Don’t Forget to Pack Grace

Today, I’m excited about something that’s been “brewing” in the background for a couple of months. Today, (in)courage is opening a new group of communities is to connect women to other women who are where they’re at in life….the struggles, the frustration, the trials, the joys, the work, the tears and the laughter.

Seven years ago, I joined a different group of ladies on a different website. I’d lurked for months and months, tentatively commenting here and there but then I became a mother and I was overwhelmed. In this community, I found a group of friends stretching from Georgia to Alaska who were right there in the trenches with me, trying to find a balance between working and being a mom. Those ladies….they’ve been lifesavers. They’re some of my closest friends and I honestly still don’t make it through a day without talking to at least one of them.

When (in)courage put out the call for new community leaders, I happily submitted an application because I know the true value of the friendships we form online. They aren’t strangers after a while. They’re sisters. Family. Loved. Cherished.

So today, (in)courage opens new communities. I’ll be hanging out in “Don’t Forget to Pack Grace,” a forum for moms working inside and outside the home. This will be a private group of ladies who are there to support one another, pray together and for each other and to love one another when its hard to love ourselves and our lives. Chelle and I chose to set our group up on Facebook. All you need to do is join us!

My partner-in-crime is Chelle who is a sweet, sweet soul with a heart after God.

If you’re new to Life Imperfectly, I’m so glad you’re here!  I wrote a little “intro” about myself that I’m just going to post here…

We all dream of that perfect life where everything flows smoothly and there’s just happiness and butterflies. Right? I can’t be the only one. That life where the kids never fight, I never fight with my husband, I don’t yell and finances are never an issue.  Perfect, right?

Over the past few years, God blessed us with several trials (though seeing them as blessings wasn’t so easy) that made me realize one thing.  Life is always going to be imperfect.  If you’re here, you’re probably just like me.  You love “internet world” with all its pretty pictures, “perfect” moms and you think that you’re doing something wrong because you just can’t get there.  But what I finally realized is this: what we don’t see are the normal behind the scenes battles, the messy houses, the sinks of dirty dishes, the not-so-stellar parenting moments…the ugly parts of life.  And they’re there, in every house.

So I chose instead to embrace it.  Sure, I still yell. My life is full of giggles, laughter, blessings and beauty.  It’s also full of stress, angry words sometimes, dirty floors, non-dusted furniture, piles of laundry, sinks full of dishes, piles of paperwork, a million appointments and meetings and well, dirty socks peeking out from underneath the couch. I come home tired from work and sometimes, we have sandwiches for supper (GASP!)  But, that’s ok.  I’d rather sit in the floor and play blocks, or curl up on the couch and read a book or watch a movie with my kids than stand in my kitchen and cook.  Simplifying my life and enjoying the small things? Those are my goals in life.

My name is Carrie and I am a full-time WOTH mom.  My blog, Life Imperfectly is where I ramble sporadically about my life, my projects, my thoughts and my dreams.  I’ve been given a wonderful husband and three handsome boys.  We live in the north Georgia mountains.  Hunter and I, we’ve had our share of struggles and we’re still standing on the solid rock of our faith in Jesus as our Savior.

I hope you’ll join me at Don’t Forget to Pack Grace!

One thought on “(in)couraging one another online…Don’t Forget to Pack Grace

Leave a Reply

