Teaching My Kids About Poverty, Helping Others and Social Good Products

I spend a lot of time thinking about how I can teach my boys about poverty. Without breaking their hearts but while also breaking their hearts for people. I want them to care, to know we are blessed and that we should try to help whenever and however we can. We pack Operation Christmas Child boxes each year and talk about why we’re packing them. They see me cry over blog posts from Compassion bloggers. They help me carry food to the food bank at our church. They know I help with the clothes closet and our Hope’s Kitchen serving food to those who may need it. We buy gifts at Christmas for foster children.

At least twice a year, we scour the Samaritan’s Purse catalog and pick something that we want to donate money for. I like to do something related to a trade. We’ve put money toward buying a goat, we’ve bought baby chickens. We paid for clean water. It varies each time that we pick but I show them the catalog and we look for what we want to donate for as a family. Its one of my favorite things to do with them because I know it shows them that we can help, even in small ways. It shows them that by providing someone in need with supplies to eventually provide from themselves and create a business or trade of their own is not charity. It is changing a family’s life forever.

At Blissdom, I had the opportunity to meet Kelly who works with a wonderful movement called Heart of Haiti.

Heart of Haiti is a line of merchandise carried exclusively on the Macy’s website. This initiative was started by artist and social entrepreneur Willa Shalit along with the Clinton Bush Haiti Fund and Macy’s. The goal of Heart of Haiti is to provide Haitians in need with “trade, not aid” to improve their standard of living. The beautiful part of this project is that it is an initiative that is working to offer Haitians, still struggling to recover from the devastating earthquake, a job. A way to earn a living, feed their family and pay to send their children to school (because Haitian children are not offered a free education).

Haiti is the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere with limited options for its citizens. Despite all of this, Haitians have fought back; they are slowly rebuilding their country after the earthquake. Heart for Haiti provides local artisans (you can read some of their stories here) with a way to help their country rebuild and to improve their standard of living. Heart of Haiti has employed 750 Haitian artists which has in turn reached 8,500 people to date! Even better, the products in the Heart for Haiti line are all made of mostly recycled materials from within Haiti. Social good + environmental good=win-win product in my book!

Heart of Haiti is carried exclusively through Macy’s. The items in this line are beautiful, handmade, one-of-a kind and…well gorgeous.

I am obsessed with owls at this point in my life and I have fallen in love with this little guy.  At 10.99, he’ll be an adorable addition to my desk at work!

This wood server set is exquisite, just exquisite.  The craftsmanship is phenomenal.

There are also beautiful pendants that would make wonderful graduation gifts.

Heart of Haiti sent me a gorgeous necklace so I could see just how beautiful these handcrafted pieces are.

My necklace is a work of art. The pendant is made of a hard metal that won’t bend during wearing. I love the red rope that it came on and that I can change it out to match whatever I’m wearing (I can see it on a ribbon or a heavy silver chain as well. As you can see, its pretty large (it fills the palm of my hand which is small yes, but not tiny) so it’ll definitely be a statement to whatever outfit I’m wearing!

If you haven’t found the perfect Mother’s Day gift yet, I hope you’ll check out the Heart of Haiti line. Some of these products can be found in the store but they are all available online. Mother’s Day, a birthday, an anniversary, a teacher gift. The items in the Heart of Haiti line are simply beautiful, hand-crafted, and offer you a chance to put your money to work on the ground in country in desperate need. It’s a win-win situation for everyone!

Note: I was provided with a beautiful pendant from Heart of Haiti so that is technically a form of compensation and I have to disclose it. As always, my opinions are all my own and I would tell you if I didn’t like what I had received. Y’all know that I like to share products with social good causes on my blog so any chance I have to do just that, I will. Thanks to Kelly with Everywhere and Heart of Haiti for the gorgeous necklace.

One thought on “Teaching My Kids About Poverty, Helping Others and Social Good Products

  1. Thank you so much for the post about Heart of Haiti! I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day with your boys. It sounds like you guys are quite busy with all the great philanthropic work you do. It was so nice to work with you and Haiti is grateful for the opportunity to develop their trade and for a sustainable line of work.

Leave a Reply

