Domestic Diva Update: Progress on Cooking Ahead

dirty dishes
via

My kitchen is a complete disaster right now. I’m avoiding it by sitting in the living drinking coffee and not thinking about the fact that I have dishes stacked up everywhere from my afternoon of cooking.

So far, here’s what I accomplished:

  • 1 loaf of bread that we’re eating (yum-love this recipe)
  • 1 batch of refrigerator bread (from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day)
  • 4 bags of pinto beans frozen for later meals plus dinner last night (*NOTE! The hot Rotel is seriously HOT.)
  • Double batch of chocolate chip cookie dough made, 1/2 cooked, 1/2 frozen for later (best cookies ever)
  • 1 batch of homemade granola made (Even Hunter likes it!  He eats it as cereal.)

Those links will take you to the recipes that I use repeatedly.  Tried and true.

For the pintos, there’s no recipe so to speak but here’s what I did for this batch:

  • 1 pound of dried pinto beans (You can cook smaller amounts.)
  • 1 can of Rotel (This time, I used only a 1/2 can of the hot Rotel and it still came out hotter than I expected.)
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • Pepper to taste

I rinsed, sorted and then soaked the beans overnight. The next morning I put them in the crockpot and added the Rotel, salt and pepper. Rotel is great for pinto beans.  It gives them flavor and its a quick add in. Because my crock pot is dying, I cooked them on high for 8 hours. If you have a crock pot that is working properly, you can usually cook them for 4-6 hours on low and they’ll be done with the soak.

Once they were cooked, I scooped out 2 cup portions into freezer bags, added some of the juice to the top and froze them. We’ll toss them in a pot or the microwave for beans during the week and I don’t have to buy canned (plus these taste way better!)

I’m hoping to get a few more things done this weekend. I’ll let you know how it goes. For now, I suppose I should go start on the kitchen and feed these children before our ball game.

Leave a Reply

