I’m Having a Party for Mercy House Kenya! (pssttt…and a Giveaway!)

This giveaway is now closed!  Congratulations to Carol on winning the $25 gift certificate to the Mercy House shop!  I hope you’ll come back and tell me what you chose to buy! Please look for an email from me.

I am SO excited about this post!

Today, I am thrilled to be hosting a virtual party for Mercy House Kenya! Have you heard of this amazing organization yet?

It all started with Kristen, who went on a mission trip to Africa with Compassion. She came back broken. Broken for the suffering she saw and the poverty that surrounded her during her week-long trip. She came back and poured her heart out. I read every word and I cried.

But Kristen. She didn’t forget it. Instead, she got down on her knees and prayed. After meeting Maureen, a young woman previously sponsored through the Compassion program, Mercy House was born. With faith, love, determination, sleepless nights and a lot of sweat, an amazing organization was born. Kristen lives here in the United States raising awareness and garnering support for Mercy House Kenya while Maureen works on the ground in Africa. In 2010, the Rehema House was opened in Kenya as a refuge for pregnant women in need of a safe place, prenatal care and training to end the cycle of poverty that puts so many women and children in terrible situations.

A Safe Haven

Mercy House Kenya is a safe haven with six maternity beds (and is growing). Residents who enter into the Rehema house aren’t just having a baby and leaving. Instead, they enter into a two to four-year program where they are cared for during their pregnancy, receive proper nutrition, receive counseling and ministry. These women also learn skills through the Sustainable Skills Program such as jewelry, soap making and (soon!) sewing so they can provide an income for their family when they complete the Mercy House program.

At the end of the program, these women have a small account to start their own business. Mercy House strives to reach as many girls as they can but in a way that the organization can sustain and continue to operate. In their words, our goal is quality, not quantity and total discipleship.” You can read about the girls that are currently staying at the Rehema House here.

Supporting Mercy House Kenya

Mercy House Kenya is a Christian organization seeking to help those in need, offer assistance for those who cannot help themselves and to do so in a way that honors the Lord. I love the verse that is the framework of their organization: “He has shown you, O man, what is good: And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and love mercy, to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8. Sounds amazing doesn’t it? I am been amazed by this organization and the people behind it. There are several ways you support Mercy House Kenya.

First, they ask you to pray continually for their staff, for Maureen, for the girls they are helping and the girls yet to come. These girls have come from situations that are unimaginable to us. They’ve lived it. Survived it. Now is the time for healing, for showering them with God’s love, for sharing God’s word and for loving them when many think they aren’t lovable.

Second, you can also give financially to help Mercy House Kenya. It costs around $5,000 to operate for one month. (You can see their budget here. It’s all up front and posted for you to see…fiscally transparent. Love that). You can set up to make a monthly donation or you can make a one time donation. They also have the Power of Tree program: Give $3 on the 3rd of each month to remember that 3 girls are raped every 45 minutes. That’s a cup of coffee or a snack. It isn’t much is it?

Third, you can make donations specifically for items on their wish list. Sometimes, those things seem so small to us but would mean so much to them.

The last way you can help is to shop! That’s right! The girls living at the Rehema house are making goods to sell! Beautiful handcrafted jewelry and other household items. You can support Mercy House Kenya by shopping in their store.

I love, love, love this bowl. I love the bright colors.  I’m always amazed that these products are made from newspaper pages!

And the new crosses they are offering! I think this would look so good hanging from a wall or setting on a little easel in my office.

A Giveaway!

The ladies of Mercy House Kenya sent me two items to tell you more about today (through crossed messages I got two items. It was supposed to be one!) First is this beautiful necklace.

This is my necklace from Mercy House Kenya. I love the blue!

The beads are handcrafted from paper. I’m amazed that they are so uniform in size and that the necklace doesn’t weigh a ton like I expected. It’s actually quite lightweight. The blue is such a beautiful color. The length is perfect; it falls right in the center of my chest-just right on me. The smaller beads in between are on a rigid silver piece so the necklace holds its shape. I’ve gotten so many compliments on my necklace. There are longer versions of the necklace available that you can wrap twice. I have the longer necklace as well and love it.

I tried to take my own pictures but my 6 yr old photographer wasn't doing so great today!

I also received this t-shirt which I’ve fallen in love with! It’s so comfortable and soft! The graphic is really cute and speaks a message all on its on: Act Justly, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly. It doesn’t get any simpler than that. I will say that if you order one of these shirts, you might consider ordering up one size. Mine’s just a bit snug on me.

The wonderful ladies at Mercy House Kenya have given me a chance to offer one of you a $25 gift card  to shop at Mercy House Kenya! Awesome, right?!?

There are several ways you can enter this giveaway. You can do all of them or just one, that’s up to you.

1. Comment! It’s that easy for one entry. Have you heard of Mercy House before?
2. Share on Facebook or twitter and come back and tell me. Something like this:
I’m having a Virtual Party for Mercy House Kenya! Enter to win a $25 gift card! http://bit.ly/HOo1B6 @mercyhousekenya @thatcarrie
3. Like Mercy House on Facebook.  Not because you want to win but because you should.
4. Follow Mercy House on Twitter
5. Watch the video (above) and leave a comment telling me you did.  It only takes a minute.
6. Subscribe! Stick around with me! (Just click that little Subscribe in a Reader Button over there on the right and choose your reader)
7. Follow me on Twitter and Facebook

That’s SEVEN chances to win! If you choose to do just one or two things, please, watch the video and choose one way to keep up with Mercy House (Facebook or twitter). I am choosing to do this Virtual Party because I love the reason and philosophy behind Mercy House Kenya and I made a decision weeks ago to use my blog for good where I can. That means talking about opportunities where we can give. Mother’s Day is coming. Consider choosing something from the Mercy House Shop to support another mother, across the globe, in need.

This giveaway will close on Friday, April 6, 2012 at 12pm.  I’ll announce the winner here.

Good Luck!

I was provided with two products to review as part of this virtual party.  My opinions are solely my own and any reviews you read here are based on my personal experience.  All information on Mercy House Kenya is from their website or from materials from the organization.  Or from what I have read on Kristen’s blog.  But, again, my opinion is not for sale. I loved what I received and am happy to share my thoughts with you!
11 thoughts on “I’m Having a Party for Mercy House Kenya! (pssttt…and a Giveaway!)

  1. I have heard of the mercy house and just placed my order for the blue shirt last week! Would live to buy more;)

Leave a Reply

