A YMX Shirt Review and Giveaway!

2012 Calendar 

This giveaway is closed!  Congratulations to Rose!  Please watch for an email so I can get your mailing address!

This year, I decided not to do resolutions or goals.  I think I need a break from it all.  We’ve had a lot go on the past few years and honestly, its kind of depressing to look back and see everything I didn’t get done.  I still have a few things in my head that I want to accomplish but I’m not calling them goals.  They’re just “things I want to get done.”  I’m not sure there’s a difference but psychologically, there is to me!

One of the things I’m working to fit in is exercise in the form of walking and yoga classes.  Yes, like the rest of the world, I need to lose weight.  But, I am not setting a “I want to lose X pounds this year” goal.  What I really need is to simply incorporate exercise into my life.  For my heath, for my family and for me.  I would like to walk 30-45 minutes, 3 times a week and then attend yoga class at least once a week.I can fit it in with some effort.  EFFORT.

I have a few obstacles but I have a plan of sorts to dump the excuses and get busy.That’s always the hard part.  I get off work most days at 3 so I believe I can walk 2-3 days a week.  I’d really like to set myself up a schedule of Wednesdays, Fridays and Sundays because I work from home those weekdays and then we’re almost always home on Sunday afternoon.  It’s a start.Classes are another story.  It’s easy for me to not go because I don’t want to go alone but I’m getting over it.  I just have to fit it into my schedule each week and that’s the tricky part.

The Tools 
It had been at least 3 years since I bought shoes and the last time I bought them I bought cute, trendy, flat soled New Balances.  Umm yeah.  Not so good for exercise.  My parents gave me some money for Christmas so I found a good deal on a pair of shoes a few weeks ago and bought a pair. I took care of exercise and yoga pants during the summer…all on sale.  I need 1 long tank so I don’t show the rest of a yoga class my very….ahem…slightly not firm tummy! I also go really lucky with an offer I couldn’t refuse that one of you is going to benefit from too!

About YMX
YMX is an extension of YellowMan, a high-end tattoo clothing brand created on the premise that skin color should never be a barrier for anyone.  Peter Mui, the owner, spent years pursing the artwork of renowned tattoo artists for this clothing.  YMX offers a variety of athletic apparel that is based on Mui’s extensive collection of tattoo artwork. Their exercise clothing is nothing if not interesting to look at!    When YMX offered to send me the Winter Flower Tri-Pocket Jersey to review, I jumped at the chance. I was thinking about buying an Under Armour shirt to wear so YMX contacted me at the perfect time! I was quite surprised when it came in the mail and was very…vivid!

My Experience with the YMX Winter Flower Shirt
The Winter Flower artwork is absolutely amazing, very detailed and beautiful (go to their site for better images… my camera is being a tool right now. I’ll update pictures if I can later but I really wanted to get this giveaway up here). I’ll admit that, initially, the pattern was a little over the top for me (there are several offerings online of slightly calmer patterns), but the shirt’s fabric and design won me over.  The shirt is silky smooth and the length is right to keep the shirt from riding up all the time (don’t you hate that?) The bottom hem is slightly smaller so it grips your hips better to further reduce the ride-up issue.  The collar has a zipper so I could adjust it depending on the weather.  There are also a couple of pockets on the back to store items while you’re exercising like your MP3 player, your phone, keys, etc.  The fabric is also UPF 50+….an added bonus.I gave my shirt several tests.  I tried it exercising (both walking and using the evil Jillian Michaels DVD). It held up great! I tried it as an insulating layer and was really happy with it.  I didn’t feel as hot and sweaty as I normally do in my sweatshirts or tees.  I also wore it working the yard several times under a t-shirt.  The length is perfect for me and so far, I’ve had no snags, no problems with the zipper and it hasn’t faded or drawn up in the wash.

Cons
Well, the price is a big con.  I don’t think you’d spend $120 on a shirt if you’re just starting exercising again. But, if you’re hard core, you probably spend a lot on your workout or competition clothes.  Price is always a limiting factor for me.Second, I would love to see a few softer patterns.  I have grown to like my shirt a lot but I do wish the sleeves were solid like Winter Sun-Yellow shirt.  If I could have chosen a shirt to review, it would have been this one.Third, I do wish that the bottom hem perhaps had some more grip to it to hold it down better when you’re bending down a lot…maybe some kind of thin rubber band material around the bottom.Last, I felt like the arms (and wrist hems), were a little bit tight but it wasn’t so much of an issue that I wouldn’t wear it again and again (as I have).

Now…A Giveaway for You!
Overall, I really do like my YMX shirt and am so glad I was given the opportunity to review the product.  I know that I’ll be using mine all winter long! After a few delays, camera issues, computer issues and being sick, I’m finally getting around to the best part of this….a Giveaway! YMX has graciously offered to give one of you a YMX Winter Flower shirt of your very own!  If you’d like to be entered, simply leave a comment below and you’re entered! If you want to hang around, please click the Follow button). You can also get additional entries by following me on Twitter () and tweeting about the giveaway (I just entered a YMX giveaway at http://tinyurl.com/6mohaxt  #wearymx #giveaway). Also, be sure to follow YMX (@wearymx) on Twitter as well I’ll close this giveaway on Friday, February 3, 2012 and announce the winner shortly after!  Your shirt will be mailed directly from YMX once I contact you for your shipping information. I am not responsible for the shipping of your prize.

Carrie

Please note that this giveaway is sponsored by Yellowman YMX and that I was compensated for this review with a free shirt to try and one to give away  . However, my opinions and my reviews are my own and are never for sale.  These are my true thoughts on the Winter Flower shirt after several weeks of trying it out.

4 thoughts on “A YMX Shirt Review and Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

