A Simpler Christmas

The inevitable has happened…

Tissue?Not only do I have a cold but I also got lucky enough to catch a stomach virus as well. Aren’t I the lucky one?!? I guess I should see the day off as a blessing. I’ve been on the couch all day watching TV. ALL DAY.

Presents Under the TreeI’ve got a project on the needles (so cute and I am dying to show it to you but I don’t want to ruin the surprise!) that is close to wrapping up but today wasn’t the day for such endeavours as following a pattern.  Today was for water, toast, TV and rest.   A hint of computer time but nothing major.

Christmas is approaching and that means projects.  Crafting. Sewing. Knitting.  But in all honesty, I’ve taken a step back this year.

moving, moving, moving

With boxes still with us, the thought of dragging out all our Christmas stuff just overwhelmed me. So I didn’t.  That’s right. I didn’t. I made things simpler. In fact, I only found the rest of our ornaments last night. And that’s ok. The kids are having fun placing a few each day. My Christmas village? Not lit. No snow. But it is certainly pretty in its new home. My mantle? Just greenery and lights. Nice and simple.

christmas lights
I’m paring down, keeping it simple. Things change every year. Less people gather, less can make all the activities of past. I’m adjusting.And trying to not be disappointed. So this year, I’m buying less (even though it sure doesn’t feel like it), baking a little less, and just enjoying sitting in front of our beautiful tree staring at the lights while the fire crackles in the fireplace.

Is there anything better?


What’s on your Christmas agenda?  Are you paring down for a variety of reasons?  What’s out the door this year and what’s staying?  


Carrie

Leave a Reply

