Blessed

We are. 

Blessed.  Beyond anything we deserve.

 

We feel Loved.

 

We feel…Complete.

 

Jarret Michael (who will forever be JM from here on out) joined us at 7:49 a.m. on Thursday, March 3rd.  He weighed in at 7 pounds, 14 ounces and is 20 inches long with brown hair and beautiful blue eyes.  And a 15 inch head!

We’ve been getting to know one another, Jarret and I.  And we’re bonding. 

Vday 017

His brothers…they weren’t so sure at the hospital but once we were all tucked in at home, they wanted to hold him and love on him. 

Such a snuggler.  Who refuses to sleep in that bassinet.  Why should he when he knows his mama is right there after all?

Vday 066

Obviously, he was not a giant baby.  All those “big baby” predictions are being attributed to an extreme amount of amniotic fluid.  My first comment after they told me he was indeed a boy was “All this and he only weighs 7lbs and 14 ounces?  Seriously?”

As far as the story goes, I had a doctor’s appointment on Wednesday at 9:15, my last one before the induction.  They put me on the monitor to check out how the baby was doing and almost 2 hours later, they sent me to the hospital because he just really wasn’t moving or responding much.  It made us all nervous. 

I was only 1 cm dilated so they put me on monitors for the entire day and then started me on Cervadil to get things going so to speak.  Two hours later, I was having contractions every 3-4 minutes but I wasn’t dilating quickly enough.  At 9, the Cervadil fell out and the decision was made to wait until morning (my second-original induction date) to do anything else but I had to stay in the hospital.  I had contractions all night long.  Not a fun night. 

At 6 am, I was 4 cm when they started the Pitocin.  At 715, I begged for an epidural because the contractions were so horrible—I HATE Pitocin and I felt weak for asking for the epidural after making it through child birth twice but seriously, Pitocin is OF THE DEVIL.  The nurse checked me and I was 7cm so she turned off the Pitocin since I was progressing so fast.  She paged the doctor.  The guy got there to do the epidural at 730 and it wasn’t as horrible as I expected. Tara, our nurse, continued to page the doctor who was taking her sweet time. 

There’s just one thing. 

The epidural?  Yeah, it didn’t work.  I lost the feeling in my right hip, around my hip bone.  And continued to fight through the contractions and then leg cramps in between the cramps.  My left leg, never numbed and I felt everything.  What a waste of money that one was!

Finally, Tara told the Tech to open the door and she yelled to get the doctor down there NOW.  He was coming and I could feel it.  She kept telling me not to push but pffftt, YOU stop it.  The doctor came in and was talking about how fast I’d gone and Tara is telling her over and over to get her gloves on.  Basically, she was holding the baby in there.  I finally looked at her and yelled (as nicely as I could) to LET THE BABY OUT NOW!  She moved her hand and delivered our sweet boy while the doctor was still getting her gloves on! 

Vday 011 (This is our nurse Tara.  I told her to take the obligatory picture since she, and not the doctor delivered!)

That’s our exciting story!  Thank God I have fast labors because if I had to do that all day long, you might as well have SHOT ME.  Whew. 

My sweet, beautiful perfect little boy is here.  I’m a mom to 3 boys.  Its unreal.  I’ll be honest that I was a little scared that I’d be disappointed about not having a girl but I’m not.  I thought I’d feel left out and lonely as they get bigger and want to hang with their dad all the time.  But I don’t.  This feels right.  So right.  I’m meant to be a mom to boys.  I am. 

Everyone’s asking if we’ll try for a girl next.  The answer?  No.  Hunter and I feel that our family is complete.  Unless God has another surprise for us, we’re not planning to have any more children.  We have been truly blessed with three healthy and beautiful children. 

Thank you for your prayers and advice over the past few weeks!  I’m working on a routine that includes BLOGGING MORE but the olders will be home with me soon in the afternoons and we’ll be getting back to working on the other house.  I have tons of partial posts, none complete. 

  (My favorite picture I think)

Welcome to the world Jarret.  We’ve prayed for you and we’re so glad that you’ve came. 

Carrie

2 thoughts on “Blessed

  1. Congrats! He's gorgeous! (love the bottom pic too!)Well thank heavens for Tara! I swear the nurses know more than the doctors these days. Too bad about the pitocin – I did 14 hours of back labor, but I can only imagine how bad pitocin makes things. It's the WORST when they tell you not to push! They made me wait for 1/2 an hour before deciding that I could get over the "lip" of 1/2 a cm. Ugh. Hilarious how you yelled to let the baby out! I'd have said screw it and pushed anyway.It's got to be a great feeling knowing you're complete. Good luck w/ littlest man and those rowdy boys!

Leave a Reply

