My First Giveaway and a Recipe!!!

Ok, because I’m dork, I’m terribly excited about this! 
I’ve been wanting to do a giveaway for a long time but, well, the funds just aren’t there.  And I surely don’t sew well enough to give away a thing I’ve made.  So, I’ve been kind of stuck until now.
A few months back I guess, I signed up at a website called MyBlogspark.  I’d read about it several times and honestly, it was one of those things where I figured that I might get some free things to try.  I love trying free stuff!  lol.
Anyway, a few weeks ago, I got an email asking if I’d be interested in trying a Cascade product and as a thank you, they’d send me something to give away to YALL!  I said absolutely.  It’s Cascade, after all, and I didn’t figure it would amount to a thing.   
I promptly forgot all about the email.  Of course, right? 
Then I had a package of the Post Office that baffled me until I opened it.    I opened it up and found this…

 

Fun, right?  (Told ya I was a dork). 
THE CHALLENGE:
Take the 24-Hour Challenge

Here was the challenge.  Bake a blueberry cobbler. Eat it.  Leave bowl out to sit for 24 hours.  Pretty easy.

Unfortunately, I don’t like blueberries.  But, I was willing to oblige since Hunter loves them and I had some to use in my freezer stash. 
Let the baking begin.
Here’s my Fall Back (Any Fruit) Cobbler recipe

Preheat oven to 375. 

Ingredients:
1 quart fruit (peaches, blackberry, blueberry or even strawberries all work here)
2 cups sugar
1 cup all purpose flour
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 stick butter (margarine works too)
1 cup milk
I love this recipe because it’s got a lot of crust to it.  Plus, the recipe provided in the press kit used fresh blueberries and pie filling.  Blech.  I don’t like pie filling. 
It’s pretty basic but I’ll walk you through it with pictures…since I took them and all.
Put 1 quart of berries (fresh or frozen—I used frozen that I warmed for about 30 seconds in the microwave to get the juices flowing) and 2 cups of sugar in a large bowl and toss them to combine.  Set it aside and let the yumminess begin to happen.  It would probably be better to have your berries thawed but mine worked out fine going with slightly warmed berries.
 IMG_4549
(Let me just say that the sugar/fruit tastes ssssssoooooooo good right here like this). 

IMG_4538

(Like my new bowl???  It’s got a fancy schmancy really tight top to go with it). 
Put 1 stick of butter ( or margarine) in your pan and put it in the oven to melt.
In another bowl, combine the flour, salt and baking powder and mix well.  Add the milk and stir to combine. 

IMG_4547

You might have to add another tablespoon of milk to thin it a bit.  But, it is a thicker batter.
Once you’re done with that, pull your baking vessel with the butter out of the oven.

IMG_4548

YUM-o.
This is the part here you’ll need to move a bit faster. 
Spoon the batter on top of the butter.  It will sizzle.  Just kind of dollop it around your pan.  It’ll look like this when you’re done.

IMG_4550

Next, take your sugar and berries and spread those on top of the batter.  Here’s the final product.

IMG_4551 

It seems weird I know but trust me.  It works.
Put it in the oven for 40-50 minutes.  Since we like our crust a little crispy, I tend to leave ours in longer.  Whatever your preference.  When it’s all done, you’ll have this…

IMG_4552

And then…enjoy!
Hunter took a whole day to eat this thing by himself.  He said we needed vanilla ice cream if I was cooking like this.  Here’s how it looked when he was done.

IMG_4584

NOW—back to the Challenge.
Cascade Complete logo

The next step was to leave the bowl sitting out for 24 hours.  No rinsing. Neither of these two parts of the challenge was difficult for our family.  I did scrape the last of the berries out.
The next step was to wash it in my dishwasher.  MY dishwasher.  hahahahahaha.  Let me explain the joke and why, if this stuff is going to fail, it will fail with us.  We have a portable dishwasher.  Looks like this.

IMG_4595

(Please ignore fingerprints where the controls are…its stained).
We’ve had this dishwasher since 2003 when we got married.  I saved up for it after hand washing for a couple of months in a REALLY shallow sink in a crappy farm house we lived in at the time.  With a very low profile faucet. Not fun times.  Anyway, the dishwasher just isn’t great.  You just don’t get the pressure or the hottest water that you really need for a good washing.  The dishes are clean…and sanitized…but you HAVE to pre-rinse.  You have to or you’ll end up with food specks on everything.  It just can’t do it.  So, needless to say, I tossed the gel-pac in

Cascade Complete pouch 

and started the load of dishes with my cobbler bowl with a laugh. 
Cascade provides the following description of their product:
Cascade Complete All-in-a ActionPacs (TM) give you the confidence of a job done right.  It breaks down, dissolves and rinses away though food particles without the need to pre-wash.
  • No pre-washing
  • More tough food-cleaning ingredients*
  • Rinse Aid Action
*vs. regular Cascade ActionPacs
WE’LL SEE WON’’T WE?!?!?
The VERDICT
Drum roll……………………

IMG_4626

HOLY COW!  Can you believe it?????  I couldn’t.  Hunter and I were both quite surprised to open the washer and find it clean!  I was full prepared to be let down by yet another product! (And prepared to hand wash and re-run ALL the dishes).  The bowl was nearly spotless.  There’s only 1 tiny place in the upper left corner that didn’t come completely clean.  I tried to get a good picture of it but it’s still hard to see.

IMG_4627

I think you can see it. 
Needless to say, I was pleased with the Cascade Complete gel-pacs.  The biggest con I can see with this product is that the smell is strong.  And in past experiences, the gel-pacs tend to not dissolve as well or get stuck in the dispenser tray.  That’s why I had switched back to the straight gel solution because I didn’t have to worry about dissolving issues.  I’ve washed another load of dishes since then and they came out perfectly clean too.  I am THRILLED.  Anything that will make my house cleaner in a way that’s easier on me, I am FOR it.  No more pre-rinsing everything (or pre-washing it as Hunter says).
NOW, the  really fun part!  THE GIVEAWAY!
In exchange for this little “experiment” I conducted, I was sent a $25 Walmart gift card to giveaway to one of my readers! 
Walmart gift card 
They wanted me to give it to the first person to comment but I wanted to have a little fun with this giveaway since I’ve never had one before. 
So, if you would like to enter, there are 3 ways to be entered for the drawing!
First, in the comments, answer this question:
What kitchen/household product could you not live without?  It doesn’t have to be a cleaning product either.  Just the one thing you wouldn’t give up.
Answering the question in the comments will get you 1 entry.
Second, if you’re a follower or you subscribe in a reader, tell me that in a separate comment and that’ll get you another entry.  If you’re not one, SUBSCRIBE!  We’d love to get to know you here!  And you’ll get another entry.
Oh, and if you’d like a third entry, tweet about my first giveaway and then let me know that in a separate comment with your twitter “handle.”
Duplicate entries for each possible way of entering will be deleted.
This giveaway ends on Wednesday, May 5 at midnight!
That’s it!  It’s that easy.
This has been fun so I hope to do this again in the future! 
Good luck!

Carrie

ETA:  There’s a 0.50/1 Cascade coupon in the P&G insert this week!

For the benefit of the FTC and anyone else who really cares: This product review was based on using complimentary Cascade product provided by P&G.  Bloggers also received a Walmart gift card to share with readers.  P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor does it endorse any opinions expressed within this blogsite—Carrie here:  In other words, I get to keep the bag of Cascade gel-pacs and the cool white bowl, and one of yall will get a $25 gift card.  A big thanks goes out to MyBlogSpark and Cascade for helping me provide this giveaway!)
66 thoughts on “My First Giveaway and a Recipe!!!

  1. I could not live without my dishwasher. We lived without one for years and years and got a portable when DS#1 was born. Since we moved we have a "real" one and I can't imagine how we lived without it.

  2. How fun are you?!?! I'm so excited for you for having a giveaway and I'm super impressed w/the job that the gel pac did to clean that dish!What kichen item could I not live without? Paper towels. I HATE when we run out (which is how things are currently)… there are just some kitchen messes that I don't want to clean up w/a wash rag, sponge or towel… I want that mess gone forever from my life. I especially like Viva paper towels b/c they are super soft yet strong

  3. I could not live without my toaster oven. I don't like using a microwave, so I rely on my toaster oven for quick and easy meals.runningmatey at hotmail dot com

  4. I would definitely not want to give up my dishwasher. My absolutely least favorite household task is doing dishes, so I love that machine!bkittie@hotmail.com

  5. There is no way I would survive without my microwave! Thank you so much for offering such a great giveaway. :)clogzilla(at)yahoo(dot)com

  6. I could not live without my dishwasher. I have four kids, and our dishwasher broke last year. We held out for two months before we purchased a new one. It was a long two months at the sink.

  7. I couldn't live without my refrigerator. If it were not for the fridge, I don't know how I would keep all my groceries fresh and my insulin cold.

  8. This sounds dumb, but I couldn't live without a garbage disposal. For when I leave the dirty dishes in the sink for 6 days and there are things growing and all I have to do is turn on hot hot water for a minute and the gross growing things disappear!Christieropp(dot)5@wright(dot)edu

  9. I could not STAND to be without my coffee maker! Sure, I like Starbucks and all of that, but I definitely like to have my first cup in the privacy of my home before I step out to face the world.

  10. Could not live without so many things in my kitchen…hmm one thing though huh…my food processor/stick blender thingy…Love that thing!stephanielumb@ yahoo dot com

  11. Can't live without my crock pot — well, I could probably live without it, but we'd end up eating a lot more pizza. Thanks for the giveaway! jfsarma at gmail dot com

  12. Things I couldn't live without? It's a tie between my crock pot and my Kitchen Aid stand mixer. Congratulations on your first giveaway–it's a great one! :)ms0812(at)zoominternet(dot)net

  13. It would be horrible to not have my microwave. It's gone out a couple of times, and it's been terrible!! Great giveaway! Thanks!sandramasters1@bellsouth.net

  14. I couldn't go without my microwave. I know this for a fact because it went kaput a few months ago. I had to get another. (I borrowed an old one from a friend). Thanksmrspoofa(at)aol.com

  15. Oh, there are days I wish I had a dishwasher. Even a portable one. And a new blender. But, right now, I don't think I could give up my computer. In the kitchen, my cast iron and/or Rada spatula. This was a fun post!

Leave a Reply

