What’s for supper?

Everyone and their brother (ok, sister) is at Blissdom. I’m jealous! I do hope they’re having a ton of fun.

Meanwhile, I’m fixing supper. What are y’all having? I actually started ours this morning.

Potato Soup

This is not the plain fare potato soup of the past. I think I got this one off of Babycenter many, many moons ago. I can’t remember.

You’ll need:
5 lb potatoes, cubed (I have no idea how many potatoes I put it but I highly doubt it’s 5lbs. I doubt it’s 3lbs to be honest. Just chop up a bunch of potatoes)
1 block of cream cheese, diced up
5-6 slices of bacon, precooked and diced
1 medium onion, sliced
2-3 cans chicken broth (homemade is better, if you have it!)
Low Sodium people!!!!
1 can Cream of Mushroom soup (some kind of Cream of X Soup, this time I used Southwestern Pepperjack) Again…Low Sodium!
Onion powder, garlic pepper and pepper were thrown in there too.

This is the hard part.

Put it all in the crock and cook on low for 7-8 hours.

Hard wasn’t it??

Side notes:
I ended up adding more liquid (water, just a bit). I wanted to make sure I had enough liquid to cover the potatoes. Since I used homemade broth, it was frozen and took a while for me to determine if I needed to add just a bit of water, which I did.

We serve it with toasted bread strips, toasted tortillas sliced up or grilled cheese sandwiches. It’s a nice, creamy soup. The cream cheese melts along the way and just adds to the richness. If you want it to thicken, you can add a tablespoon of flour and then give it a little time to do it’s job. Go easy on this…too much and you’ll have a paste. In the words of Alton, paste=bad eats.

The house smells wonderful. It’s a cold rainy night so I’m looking forward to cuddling in front of the fire with some hot soup! I wish I could take a picture for yall but two heathens have relocated my camera for me…

Enjoy!

Carrie

ETA: If you’re not at Blissdom, link up to Blessed Moon’s “I’m Not At Blissdom Blog hop!”

ETA2: I’m also going to link up to Jen’s Tasty Tuesday at Balancing Beauty and Bedlam

One thought on “What’s for supper?

  1. sounds yummy!!! i need some good comfort food this week… they are predicting snow (1 has come true today) on two different days. if it happens, that will be 4 snows this winter! that's like a record for us which means on top of impatiently waiting for this baby to come, i need major easy comfort food

Leave a Reply

