Six Years

Six years ago today (on Saint’s Day—I couldn’t talk him into a Halloween wedding for some reason), I stood at an alter and promised to love, honor and cherish the man that I’d chosen to be my husband. Six years. In those six years, we’ve had our ups and our downs. We’ve laughed, cried, and fought. We’re moved 3 times. We survived a year in that house with NO HEAT just so you could hunt! We bought our first house. We shut down and restarted a business. We lost a baby. We spent hours begging God not to take the miracle that became our firstborn. We’ve made two handsome little boys. We’ve agonized over decisions. We’ve worried and we’ve prayed for and over our children.

But most importantly, we have loved. Hunter, as the card you gave me said, I love you more now than I did that night when I stood in the candlelight at my childhood church and promised God that I would spend the rest of my life with you. It’s been a rough year for us, we both know that. But you know what else? I love you more right now than I did six months ago and more than six years ago.

Thank you for choosing me. For loving me. For making me a wife and a mother. For supporting me unconditionally. For holding me while I cried and questioned every single thing that came my way in the past year. For being there. For just being. I love you with all my heart. There’s nothing you can do to change that.

Here’s to another sixty years handsome,
C-re

2 thoughts on “Six Years

Leave a Reply

