To Die For Chocolate Syrup Recipe

In my efforts to cut our grocery bill, I’ve been finding recipes to replace some of the convenience things that we tend to use a lot of. I’ve yet to discover the secret to Hamburger Helper and yes, we like it. Do you know I’d never had Hamburger Helper until Hunter and I were married? Weird, right?
Anyway, tonight I was making homemade chocolate syrup and thought share it with you since it’s one of my favorite homemade things that I make from scratch. My boys LOVE chocolate milk. LOVE it. Hunter consumes it. I, very seriously, buy 3-4 gallons of milk a week. Oy. It was killing me back when milk was nearly $5 a gallon. And the powdered chocolate milk stuff that Hunter likes is expensive in my opinion. I prefer Hershey’s syrup (since I can top off my chocolate ice cream with it!). I haven’t tried a powdered chocolate mix recipe yet (Hunter won’t like it anyway), but I did stumble up on a liquid version that I’ve fallen in love with.
I found this recipe on Babycenter and now I can’t find the post to thank the person who shared it. I think she goes by Deedle, so Deedle, thanks! I’ve only tweaked it a tiny, tiny bit.
(Just a note: No pictures. Sorry! Crappy blogger that I am, I didn’t think about sharing this until the last minute. NeverMIND that my camera is on the MICROWAVE.)


Homemade Chocolate Syrup
1/2 cup firmly packed cocoa powder (or dark chocolate cocoa powder if you dare)
1 cup water
2 cups sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp salt

Whisk together cocoa powder and water in medium sauce pan over medium to medium high heat.
Add all of the sugar and whisk until it dissolves. Be sure it dissolves before you go any further or you’ll end up with grainy syrup. I just get a little on my spoon and let it cool a second or two before sticking my fingers in it to see if it’s got a grainy texture. If so, keep stirring (and enjoy licking your fingers).
Once it’s all dissolved, let it get to a boil. Boil for 3 minutes. Like Deedle, I found that I had to continuously whisk and also to constantly remove it from the heat source since it wanted to boil over if I didn’t. Boiled over and burnt chocolate syrup is nasty people, nasty. Trust me. There’s no salvaging it. Just stand there with it.
After it’s boiled for 3 minutes, remove it completely from the heat (turn off your stove please!). Add in the vanilla and the salt and stir it well. I got a nice little sizzle with my pure vanilla extract.
Let it cool and put it in a sealable container (I use one of those plastic screw top containers with a spout). Store it in your frig forever. Seriously, it can last a long time. If you can resist it! I typically double this recipe and fill a 32oz storage container; lasts a little less than 2 weeks ’round here. The only downside is that the spout gets caked with dried sauce if you don’t wipe it each time but it’s nothing that a little water on a towel can’t fix.
This stuff is fantastic. Better than Hershey’s I dare say. Now, if you want to follow the “Cre must tweak every recipe” mode, just go ahead and substitute some of the dark powder cocoa for the regular cocoa. I dare you. Your eyes will roll back in your head, I promise!


Enjoy!
C-re

4 thoughts on “To Die For Chocolate Syrup Recipe

  1. I use to love hershey's syrup until I read the label! It has HFCS, so I eliminated it from our house and have been buying a straight sugar variety from Trader Joe's. This sounds delicious, plus I can make this for a fraction of the price. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

