What does your house say about you?

Ok, so if you don’t read the Nester, you should. So go over there, ok? Please?

The Nester has put out an e-book (which I promptly signed up for and downloaded), and it’s got me thinking even more about my house. Yall know I’ve been working on things here and there. It’s a slow process but one I’m actually starting to enjoy. I have bare walls in many of my rooms and lots of neutral wall colors (not necessarily a bad thing). Floors I hate, carpet I hate, a toilet I HATE, bathrooms that are not lovely and a back deck that needs a lot of love. And sanding…and redoing. I could go on and on about everything I want to change in this house and on our 5 acres. But I won’t bore you to tears.

Anyway, I think I’ve mentioned The List. I’m sure I have. I am a list maker to the fullest extent, but this is the mother of all lists. It grows and grows and grows with things I want to accomplish…inside and outside of the house. Half the time, I just put it away because it frustrates me so much. Hunter tells me that it makes him sick just looking at it because “it’s all things for me to do.” Which, by the way, is not true. I want to learn how to do things like use the cordless drill and the miter saw. But when there’s 2 of us and 2 kids under 3, it’s hard to concentrate. Plus, I hate messing things up! And I’m scared of messing up things like our walls and the door and what-not.

And here’s the kicker with The List…I refuse to go into debt to do these things anymore. We’re already in debt, thank you very much, and trying our hardest to do a good job of NOT being there in the future. So, everything I do has to be done economically.

In the Nester’s e-book, she lists adjectives that describe how you want your house to feel.

Here’s my list:
welcoming
rustic
cozy
open
sassy
simple
functional
organic
sturdy
neutral
cottage
casual
natural
country (in a good way country…not 1980s country)

Can a house be all of those things? I don’t know if it can or not but I’ve never really thought about how I want our house to feel except that I want the boys (all three of them) to have wonderful memories of being there with us and to want to come back. That’s the most important thing to me.

Just to focus a bit, I’ve been working on our bedroom. I feel like Hunter and I float through the house with no real place that’s “our own” and it shouldn’t be like that. We need a sanctuary (if you will) of our own to just be us and relax. Now Hunter’s not really into all the girly stuff and neither am I, but I want our room to be cozy. I will eventually get there. It’s hit and miss and a lot of things I do don’t turn out so great. But that’s ok.

The question of the day is, what do you want your house to say about you? What kind of feeling do you want to put out there so to speak? Are you there yet? If so, how’d you get there?!? Any cool projects? Tell me about them. I’m hoping to share some pictures this week on a few of my recent projects. If life doesn’t get in the way. :o)

If I walked into your house right now, what would it say to me? (And don’t say, this place is a mess….only my house gets to say that!)

2 thoughts on “What does your house say about you?

Leave a Reply

