Look–A Tightwad Tuesday!

I’m actually going to do a Tightwad Tuesday. Are you shocked???

This week I want to talk about one of my favorite places to go. Yes, places. I absolutely love to go to the library. Something about walking in the door of a library, any library, just soothes my soul. I don’t know if it’s the quiet or the smell of books or the endless possibilities of entertainment that sit on those shelves. There’s just something about it that makes me happy.

As a child, my mom used to take me to the library weekly. I can remember the day that I got my first library card. I have no idea why but that’s the impact. I was so excited to finally have my own. I still carry around guilt over a Snoopy cartoon book that I lost and racked up fines before they finally “forgave” the loss.

As an adult, I got away from going to the library. Well, to be honest, my mom and MIL buy a lot of books and they give them to me. I never, EVER turn away books. They are treasures to be had. I even have old boxes of college textbooks from one of Hunter’s client’s deceased husband. I love them. Someday, in my dream home, I’ll have a library to put all my books instead of boxes. I’ll go ahead and admit that I have difficulty giving away books, even paperbacks, or loaning the out. I’m afraid I won’t get loaner books back. And I’m one of those people that gets in a mood to read a specific story and I have to find it. I’ll dig for hours to find it. Even books I read as a kid (and yes, I have boxes of those books at my parents still). I’m a re-reader. Big time.

Anyway, back to the point. In the past 4 years, I’ve made a conscious effort to not spend as much money on extraneous things. As much as I love books, I don’t need to spend $50 a month on them. So, I started haunting the local library again. In our state, we have an inter-library loan program. So, if there’s a book I want to read and it’s in Bainbridge, I can request it to be sent to my library. How awesome is that? There have been very few books that I haven’t been able to find. And I can re-check out a book multiple times in a row or just as I want to re-read it. The best part for me is that, if I love a book, then I can go search it out online or in the bookstore and buy it. It’s saved me a ton of money in purchases.

You can also get on the Internet at the library, check out movies (VHS & DVD) and look at magazines. Our library always has a book sale going on where you can buy books for 0.25-0.50 as well. And they have a free magazine box. I’ve also sent faxes from the library when our fax was not wanting to work. The boys and I have also went to Story Time quite a few times and enjoyed it.

The biggest downside for me is waiting for new releases. Most of the time, there’s a request list and you have to wait on it. That does drive me crazy.

I’m starting to take the boys with me more and more. They get a little loud and they want to pull everything off the shelves so I’m thinking of taking them individually for a while. I want them to love books as I do and I feel like they have a good start. We have a good kids’ library base being built at home.

The local library is a wonderful place to go. One of my favorite things about our tiny library is that they also display local artists work. There are tons of pottery display in mine as well as painting and quilting projects. All things I love. Bigger libraries have even more and some even offer classes!

So, check out your local library this week! Maybe you’ll have a sweet little old Mary at yours like I do who loves to talk to you about your books.

C-re

Leave a Reply

