Tightwad Tuesday—clothes lines

I didn’t forget ya did I??? Aren’t you proud?

I’ve always loved a clothes line. It must have something to do with reminiscing about my childhood. My grandparents (on both sides) had clothes lines and I can vividly remember playing up underneath both of those clothes lines as a child, running through the sheets, rushing out to take clothes off the line as the rain started and lying down on those sweet, fresh smelling, crisp sheets for naps. I love the smell of clothes off of a line. Don’t you? Even as a teenager, I can remember stringing up a cotton clothes line in the backyard between 3 trees in a triangle, even though my mom could have cared less about hanging out clothes. Old fashioned I guess.

When Hunter and I lived about 2 hours from our current abode right after we got married, he built me my first official clothes line. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’ve been laying clothes out on my back porch for years and years. I had a drying rack that I used in my duplex too. I’m not above having hangers hanging off of every door frame, door knob and available ledge and curtain rod. Ask my old roommates!

Anyway, I loved that clothes line. When we lived at my Granny’s house, I was thrilled to use that same clothes line I remembered from childhood, even though half of it was taken over by fig trees. When we moved here, I started my ritual back up…clothes spread all over the porch. Last year for Mother’s Day, Hunter asked me what I wanted. A clothes line. Since we knew we had a lot of yard work we wanted to complete, it needed to be temporary and something we could move out of the way. So, Hunter came up with a plan to have a screw with essentially a closed loop at one end screwed into one tree—forgive me, I don’t know the official name, I’d ask Hunter but he’s asleep already. Off of that single hook, he ran two plastic cords with latches on the end (like a dollar leash?). Those two lines ran to two separate trees with 2 more of those hooks screwed into them which made it, again, triangular in shape. When I want the line up, I just clip those latches onto the loops. When Hunter needs to get through with the tractor, viola, take it down. It works for us and it cost maybe $20 for everything.

Why is this a Tightwad Tuesday? Line drying is FREE after the initial cost of putting up the line. I typically wash clothes on Thursdays and Fridays because I’m at home more those days. I have determined that, when I am diligent to hang clothes out, I can wash 4-5 loads of laundry and only dry 1 load! The rest can be hung out to dry! I have no idea what kind of savings that is but I know it’s helping our power bill and it’s better for the environment. Using less electricity means less fossil fuels are being used and less pollution is being generated. It’s a win-win situation for such a simple, old fashioned habit.

Can’t have a line in your neighborhood? Hang your clothes off of porch rails on your back porch where no one can see them. Use a drying rack on your back porch or your screened in porch or in a sunny window. Use hangers to hang clothes over your vents. If I need something dry by the next morning, I often put a kitchen chair over a vent and then hang whatever needs drying there. I let the heat I’m already paying for do double duty.

I love, love, love my clothes line. It’s one of my favorite household duties. I love how the breeze dries clothes and makes them smell so wonderful and it’s just so peaceful to hang clothes up and take them down. The boys already love playing in the sheets. And I love it when Hunter or JP slides on a shirt or slips into bed and inhales and says “This smells so good.” It makes me feel like I’m doing a better job as a wife and a mom. 🙂

Tightwad Tuesday! Do you hang your clothes to dry? What percentage do you think you hang? I’d guess we’re at about 85%. Hunter’s work jeans and shirts need drying simply because he’s skinnying up on me and he needs those clothes to shrink a bit! lol!

Night!
C-re

One thought on “Tightwad Tuesday—clothes lines

  1. Here is another suggestion for those who are not allowed a clothesline or for apartment and condo dwellers who do not have their own yard, a clothes drying rack is an awesome investment. I good one will last a couple generations and then your grandchildren can tell stories about playing under the laundry rack.

Leave a Reply

