Tightwad Tuesday…on Thursday

Can I just start with a big, ol‘ CRAP! It’s Wednesday night and I’ve already posted and I just realized that there was no Tightwad Tuesday…again. I’m sorry! I’m so tired tonight I’m going to do an easy one. I guess it was a week or so ago that I made homemade granola (not for the first time). I used to love buying that Yogurt with the granola on top but it never seemed like enough granola. And, it was expensive.

When the boys started eating table food, I started buying organic or all natural vanilla yogurt. And I wanted granola darn it. So, I taught myself how to make it!

Homemade granola:
5 cups oatmeal (old fashioned oats, not quick oats
1/3 cup oil (canola was my choice)
1/3 cup honey (I added a bit more)
1/2 cup of brown sugar
1/2 cup dry milk
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt

That’s the basic recipe. I started out with a recipe from The Tightwad Gazette and then modified it to my taste.

Then you can add whatever you want!
Some of my favorites are:
dried fruit (blueberries, cranberries, raisins)
chocolate chips

To make granola:
Heat brown sugar, oil and honey in a sauce pan until the sugar is dissolved, stirring often. Combine large ingredients in a lasagna pan (or something deep with sides…a casserole dish, etc). Pour sugar mixture over dry mixture and mix well. It will look like it’s clumping up but just mix as best as you can trying to coat as much as possible. Bake at 375 for 10 minutes and then let it cool in the pan. The baking will make the liquid loosen up more so I stir it good when I pull it out, add the dried fruits and then let it cool a while and give it another stir. Store in an airtight container.

You add the nuts pre-bake, and you need to add any dried items (berries, raisins) post-bake.

That’s it. It’s that easy. I added pecans and almond slivers to mine too along with all the dried berries and raisins I had since I had them in the freezer. I love making granola. I used to buy it but it’s expensive! This way I can control what’s in it (and I know what’s in it) and make it how I want it.

It’ll harden up and sometimes clump up a bit but you can just break it with your fingers after you bag it. I save the oatmeal bin and just put it back in there. Ziploc work just fine too. Enjoy! Oh and if you want it crunchier (like me), just let it stay in the oven a little bit longer…just don’t forget about it!

It’s great stuff, I promise. And I’ll never buy granola again! If you give it a try, let me know! It makes a great snack for kids. My two love it with chocolate chips or M&Ms. And Cheerios for JP. :o)

Enjoy!
C-re

4 thoughts on “Tightwad Tuesday…on Thursday

  1. Pingback: Domestic Diva Update: Progress on Cooking Ahead | lifeimperfectly

  2. Pingback: Cooking Ahead: What’s Worked So Far | lifeimperfectly

Leave a Reply

