Ten Minutes To a Room (House) You Love: My Little Projects


The Nester is having a Linky party and it’s my first time participating! LOL!

I’ve been working on a few little projects over the past few weeks. As I’ve said before, I’m a terrible decorator and I agonize every single decision. We’ve lived here 2 years and I just started hanging pictures about 4 months ago!

So, without further adieu, here are a few of my recent updates.

First, I redid some pillows ala Kimba’s method (see A Soft Place To Land in my “Who I Stalk” list) and…I LOVE THEM. Very causal, very easy and they have added some color to my blah living room!

Isn’t it great?!?! I’ve in LOVE. Now, true confession, it took more than 10 minutes but it was really easy and pretty quick. Here’s a “total couch” picture.

I also added the pictures behind the couch. Of course, they’ve been knocked over about 50 billion times in 3 days with the boys but that’s OK. They’re getting used to them being there now so hopefully they’ll be safe soon. Try not to look at the messy kitchen behind it pretty please. And the stains on the couch. Hush.

What I don’t have a picture of is the pictures I put back on the mantle. Sorry about that.

It’s not much but honestly, I am so pleased with the pillows alone. I have some curtains to mistreat at some point and then I will update again.

Just another tiny project that I did for the kitchen. I found this basket at Goodwill for 1.91.


Not horrible but not my style. So, I bought a can of black spray paint and went to work…

I just sanded it and covered the metal handle with some tape. Exactly what I wanted! The milk jars are antique. I bought one at a garage sale for $2 and it has the name of the GA dairy on it where it was used! The other, Hunter found in a pile of rumble before they tore down an old garage at my grandparents. So, it was used by my family. They’re both really special to me and something I want to continue collecting. The cotton bales are just too cute and I bought them at Christmas and have been trying to figure out what to do with them. It’s my Ode to Georgia Agriculture. :o) Pretend the John Deere plane is a crop duster or something. I just took that away from JP the other night. That’s how we roll in our house…stick taken toys in the first out of reach place we can find.
The basket is on my kitchen window sill right now and I like it there for now. I want to put a ribbon around it but I don’t have anything that “matches” just yet. Soon.

Well, that’s it. My 10 Minutes to a Room You Love. It’s progressive. The Nester’s really inspired me to look around for the small things I can change that make our house a home instead of just the place we live. I always want my boys to want to come home and for our home to be a comfortable place, full of love. Hopefully, it already is but making it more cozy can only make it better!

And yep, that’s 2 posts in a day! Aren’t you impressed? The first one I wrote yesterday but didn’t get to post because of nasty storms.

C-re

12 thoughts on “Ten Minutes To a Room (House) You Love: My Little Projects

  1. Don’t you just love how you can salvage almost anything with black spray paint…looks great and love the pillows. I’ve been meaning to try that since I have so many pillows that need recovering. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. I love the pillows! I’ve been wanting to make some pillows, and you have given me a great idea. Thanks so much!Also, I really like the picture in your header. Ahhh….. beautiful place. I used to work at a camp in the Blue Ridge Mountains. I still miss the landscape, and still miss camp!

Leave a Reply

