Living Like No Other?

Dave Ramsey often says that you have to live like nobody else to live like nobody else. It’s a though provoking statement. I’ve been working on our budget and trying to find ways to cut costs some. Work has been slow too so that’s impacting things too. My frustration is that I feel like we live pretty close to the bottom line as far as our spending goes most of the time. Every time I read an article on budgeting and saving, they tell you to stop buying coffee, don’t eat out, to clip coupons, to not buy as many clothes, etc. But what do you do when you’re already not doing those things?!?

I feel like this is the situation of a lot of people. You’ve already given up all those things. What else can you do? I’ll be honest. I don’t have the answer. All I know is that we’re working on it. And we’ll keep working on it. Why? Because I believe that consumers are shackled by debt. As the economy has become more unstable and more people have lost their homes and their jobs, it’s become more and more evident that Americans as a society are living beyond their mean and financing their entire lives.

I’m not criticizing because we’re there. We don’t have huge sums of debt. But we do have stupid debt as Dave calls it. Now the goal is to get rid of it. A few of the things that we’re doing include:
couponing
reading other websites and blogs about deals
meal planning
stockpiling (buying surplus when it’s on sale—seems contradictory but does save in the long term)
alternative work schedule
frugal/crafty decorating (again, reading blogs!)
making more food from scratch
gardening and canning

Those are just of a few things that I can think of right now. Over the next couple of weeks, we’ll talk more about all of these and about why I feel that creating a sustainable lifestyle is so important and why it’s essential.

It’s late and way past bedtime for a work night. But it’s on my mind tonight so I thought I’d get it out there. Still no mistreatment pictures. Soon, I promise. Nights are so chaotic around here and the boys’ were both terribly whiny and aggressive tonight.

Night!

Leave a Reply

