I Made the STUPIDEST Mistake

The title says it all. I am the WORST mother in the entire world. I have cried and continued to kick myself in the butt for this.

We were at Walmart today. Everything was going great and JP was a gem. When we finally got out of that awful place it was really hot. So I put JP in his seat and turned the air conditioning on. Then I loaded the groceries, left the cart by the spot (I wasn’t leaving him there alone) and drove the four miles to our house. I knew he fell asleep on the way home because he got quiet.

When I got home, I opened the back door and realized that I never buckled JP in. HE RODE THE ENTIRE WAY HOME UNBUCKLED. HOW COULD I HAVE DONE SOMETHING SO INCREDIBLY STUPID WITH THE MOST IMPORTANT THING IN MY LIFE??? What if something had happened? What if we’d been in a wreck? What was I thinking? How could I have been so negleient? I just yanked the poor sleeping baby up and took him in the house crying once I got over the shock. I just sat and held him until he woke up an hour later no worse for the wear. I am the worst parent alive…and I was making fun of Britney Spears. What kind of mother forgets to strap her child in? I even spent the freaking $200 on a Britax carseat because I thought it was the safest for my son.

Hunter just looked at me when I confessed it to him in disbelief. I’m not telling anyone else. All I can do is cry. I just prayed and prayed and thanked God for getting us home safe. What else can I do? You can bet your sweet tush I will check it three times now before I ever crank a car. Hunter was distant at first (like I needed beating up anymore) but then he hugged me and said just to thank the good Lord that we’re okay and that nothing happened to us.

Well, JP is loosing his patience but I needed to confess. There aren’t words to describe how low I feel….

Leave a Reply

